Online dating and exchange of phone numbers. When is the right time?

DATING ADVICE FORUM

Author
    Comments

• elma
    Participant
    September 7, 2016 at 6:46 pm #110755

Hello all,

I’m new to online dating thing and I was wondering when is the right time to give your phone number to someone.
    When I first registered, the first messages I received came with the question of giving my phone number.
    I thought it was crazy but then I realised that the majority of men was asking the same question from the first or second message.
    Is it normal? I mean it’s a personal information that you’re not supposed to give so easily to a complete stranger.
    Is it how online dating works? Am I being crazy?
    Thanks for your responses

( Sorry for my bad english. I’m not a native speaker)

lifestylelogic
    Participant
    September 7, 2016 at 9:27 pm #110762

I wouldn’t say that’s the norm. As a guy, I usually like to have at least a bit of a conversation to see if I like the girls personality (at least from what I can tell from the messaging). I would suggest saving your number for guys that you’ve chatted with a little built and feel comfortable talking to

Nathan86
    Nathan86
    Participant
    September 7, 2016 at 11:15 pm #110769

It really depends. Some people prefer to switch to real dating immediately and some prefer to “stay” online for some time. I would say there is no norm. What I usually do I just chat for a while and then jump to real contacts. Good luck anyway!

Winry
    Winry
    Participant
    September 10, 2016 at 7:29 pm #110959

I personally talk to the guys first for a little while before I let them have my number. If they are interested enough to keep a conversation going ( and not just horny messages) then they probably are okay to do so. Another way to have a more personal contact is through snapchat. It’s easy to unfriend and block if they turn out to be a creeper!

Kyruil
    Participant
    September 12, 2016 at 1:21 am #110986